North Carolina DWI Insurance — No SR-22, But Rates Still Rise

North Carolina does not require SR-22 insurance for NC-licensed drivers. NCDMV uses the DL-123 insurance certification form — not SR-22 or FR-44. The DL-123 is a form your insurer completes certifying you carry current NC minimum liability coverage. No SR-22 certificate filing is part of the NC DWI restoration process.

What you need after a North Carolina DWI is continuous auto insurance and — if required by your offense — an NCDMV-approved ignition interlock. Your premium will increase at renewal after a DWI conviction regardless of the DL-123 requirement. Comparing carriers before that renewal is the most effective way to reduce the surcharge.

North Carolina post-DWI insurance at a glance
SR-22 required?No — NC uses the DL-123 insurance certification form; not SR-22 or FR-44
DL-123 formInsurance certification that your insurer completes; certifies current NC minimum liability coverage. Commonly cited as valid for approximately 30 days, though NCDMV does not state an explicit validity period. Confirm with your insurer.
Minimum liability limits30/60/25 ($30k bodily injury / $60k per crash / $25k property damage)
Premium impactA DWI conviction is a major rating factor; premiums typically rise 50–100%+ at first renewal after conviction
IID requirementRequired for BAC 0.15%+, Aggravated Level One sentencing, or repeat DWI within 7 years. Hardship waiver available for qualifying low-income drivers (free install, 50% off monthly).
NCDMV restoration fee$167.75 + $50 service fee (effective July 1, 2024)

Your premium will still rise — comparing helps

Even without an SR-22 requirement, a North Carolina DWI conviction triggers a major premium increase at your policy’s renewal. The surcharge typically persists for 3–5 years depending on the carrier. NC’s auto insurance market is competitive — comparing post-DWI quotes before your renewal date can save hundreds per year.

Compare post-DWI quotes in minutes. Rates vary 200%+ between carriers — find the cheapest for your situation.
Compare quotes
Still need your interlock sorted? NC requires an IID for BAC 0.15%+, Aggravated Level One sentencing, or repeat DWI. A statutory hardship waiver (GS 20-179.5(c)) provides free installation and 50% off monthly fees for qualifying low-income drivers. Four providers are approved statewide. Time on a limited driving privilege counts toward your IID term — ask your attorney. See North Carolina DWI interlock requirements, the hardship waiver, and approved providers →

North Carolina DWI insurance FAQ

Does North Carolina require SR-22 after a DWI?
No — NC uses the DL-123 insurance certification form instead of SR-22. Your insurer completes the DL-123 certifying current minimum NC liability coverage. No SR-22 certificate filing is required as part of the NC DWI restoration process.
What is the DL-123 form in North Carolina?
The DL-123 is NCDMV’s insurance certification form — your insurer completes it confirming you carry current NC minimum liability coverage. It is used in place of SR-22. The form is commonly cited as valid for approximately 30 days, though NCDMV does not state an explicit validity period. Confirm details with your insurer and NCDMV.
Will my insurance rates go up after a North Carolina DWI?
Yes — significantly. A DWI conviction is a major auto insurance rating factor in NC, typically triggering a 50–100%+ premium increase at first renewal. The surcharge usually persists 3–5 years. Comparing carriers before your renewal date can meaningfully reduce the total cost.
Do I also need an ignition interlock?
It depends on your offense. IID is required for: BAC 0.15%+ at time of offense, Aggravated Level One sentencing, or a prior DWI within 7 years. A standard first DWI with BAC under 0.15% typically does not require one for restoration, though the judge may order it as a condition of a limited driving privilege. A hardship waiver provides free installation and 50% off monthly fees for qualifying low-income drivers. See our full North Carolina interlock guide.
Sources: NCDMV — Ignition Interlock Devices; NCGS 20-17.8; 20-179.5. Last verified August 2026.
Content is informational only — not insurance or legal advice. Verify all requirements with NCDMV or a licensed attorney.