Idaho Ignition Interlock Requirements (2026): Costs & Approved Providers

Idaho has required an ignition interlock for every DUI conviction since January 1, 2019. After your 30-day absolute suspension ends, you have just 10 days to install and get back on the road. A 2026 law change clarified when your restriction ends. Here’s your timeline, your costs, and how to qualify for hardship assistance.

Ready to install? Get a free quote from an ITD-certified Idaho provider.
Call for a free quote
Idaho DUI interlock requirements at a glance
All-offender state?Yes — mandatory for all DUI convictions since January 1, 2019 (HB 551, 2018); also triggered by a first failed evidentiary test (90-day ALS) even without conviction
Structure30-day absolute suspension (no driving) → install within 10 days → 1-year IID term
Duration — 1st offense1 year from the end of the suspension period (I.C. §18-8005(1)); restriction ends 1 year from vendor’s proof of installation (I.C. §18-8008, eff. 7/1/2026)
Duration — ALS (failed test, no conviction)1 year after the 90-day ALS
Duration — 2nd offenseIID required following the mandatory 1-year suspension; confirm exact term with your attorney — the “2 years” commonly cited is not stated in statute
Duration — 3rd+ offenseIID required following the mandatory 1-year suspension; term tracks the court’s restricted-privilege order — confirm with your attorney
10-day install windowYou must install within 10 days after the 30-day absolute suspension ends or you cannot legally drive
Violation reporting (eff. 7/1/2026)Vendors must report any lockout (0.025+ BAC) to the prosecutor; can support probation violation proceedings
Financial assistanceCourt Interlock Device Fund (I.C. §18-8010) — court may authorize for indigent defendants on a showing of hardship
ITD reinstatement fee$285 (DUI conviction); $245 (ALS/refusal)
Who certifies devicesIdaho Transportation Department (ITD)
Governing lawI.C. §18-8004; §18-8005; §18-8008; §18-8010; §49-1220
Offense termDUI (Driving Under the Influence)

How Idaho’s timeline works

After a first DUI conviction, Idaho imposes a 30-day absolute suspension — no driving for any reason. The moment those 30 days end, you have 10 days to install an ITD-certified interlock device and begin your 1-year IID term. Miss that window and you cannot legally drive until you install.

A 2026 law change (I.C. §18-8008, effective July 1, 2026) clarified when the restriction ends: 1 year from the date the vendor submits proof of installation to ITD. This removes ambiguity about when your term concludes — get your provider to file promptly after install.

A failed evidentiary test also triggers an administrative 90-day ALS suspension — even without a DUI conviction — followed by a 1-year IID requirement. Both the criminal and administrative tracks can run simultaneously if both apply.

10 days is a hard deadline. After your 30-day absolute suspension, you have exactly 10 days to install and begin your IID term. If you miss this window without installing, you cannot drive legally until you do. Book your appointment during your suspension so it’s ready to go the day the 30 days end.

Idaho ITD-certified providers

Five major national brands are on Idaho’s certified list. Note: ALCOLOCK is not on the ITD list.

ProviderMonthly est.Coverage
Intoxalock $60–100 Statewide 888-283-5899
Smart Start $70–100 Statewide 800-831-3299
LifeSafer $65–95 Statewide 800-634-3077
Guardian Interlock $65–95 Statewide 800-499-0994
RoadGuard (Dräger) $65–95 Statewide 833-545-0368

Monthly estimates are market ranges. Confirm your provider’s current certification on the ITD driver records page before signing. ALCOLOCK is not on the current Idaho certified list.

What an interlock costs in Idaho

Installation (one time)$70–150
Monthly lease + monitoring$60–100
Removal$50–75
ITD reinstatement fee (DUI conviction)$285
ITD reinstatement fee (ALS/refusal)$245

Over a 1-year first-offense term, expect roughly $900–1,400 in device costs before ITD fees. Estimate your exact cost →

Financial hardship? The Court Interlock Device Fund can help. Under I.C. §18-8010, a $15 surcharge on every Idaho Chapter 80 DUI conviction funds a county-administered assistance fund. If you’re indigent, ask the sentencing court to authorize IID costs from the fund — it covers installation and operating costs for qualifying defendants. This must be requested at or after sentencing; your attorney can help you make the showing.

How to get installed — 5 steps

  1. During your 30-day absolute suspension, call an ITD-certified provider and book your installation appointment for as soon as the suspension ends — don’t wait until day 30.
  2. On or within 10 days after your suspension ends, bring your vehicle and court documents to the provider. Installation takes 60–90 minutes.
  3. Your provider submits proof of installation to ITD. Under the 2026 law change, your 1-year restriction ends exactly 1 year from this submission date.
  4. Pay the ITD reinstatement fee ($285 for a DUI conviction; $245 for ALS/refusal) to restore your driving privileges.
  5. Serve the full 1-year term. Any lockout event (0.025+ BAC) is now reported to the prosecutor — keep every calibration appointment and don’t attempt a start after drinking.
Book before your suspension ends. You have 10 days after the 30-day suspension — call now to get scheduled.
Book installation

Violations and the 2026 reporting change

Effective July 1, 2026, Idaho vendors are required to report any lockout event (a startup attempt at 0.025 BAC or higher) to the prosecutor. This is a significant change — lockout reports can now be used to support probation violation proceedings, which carry their own consequences separate from the IID program. There is no statutory automatic time-extension schedule for IID violations, but a probation violation finding by the court can result in additional supervision, fines, or jail time. Keep a clean record for the full term.

You’ll also need SR-22 insurance. Idaho requires an SR-22 for 3 years from the end of your suspension period. Since January 1, 2025, insurers file SR-22 and SR-26 forms electronically through the Idaho Insurance Verification System. See Idaho SR-22 costs and cheapest carriers →

Idaho DUI interlock FAQ

Does every DUI in Idaho require an interlock?
Yes — Idaho has required an ignition interlock for all DUI convictions since January 1, 2019. There is no BAC threshold below which the requirement disappears and no first-offender exemption. A failed evidentiary test also triggers the requirement administratively, even without a conviction.
How long do I have to install after my suspension?
10 days from the end of your 30-day absolute suspension. If you miss this window, you cannot legally drive until you install. Book your appointment during your suspension so you’re ready to go the day it ends.
When exactly does my IID restriction end?
Under I.C. §18-8008 (effective July 1, 2026), your restriction ends exactly 1 year from the date your vendor submits proof of installation to ITD. Make sure your provider files promptly — that submission date sets your end date.
Is there financial help for low-income drivers in Idaho?
Yes — the Court Interlock Device Fund (I.C. §18-8010) is funded by a $15 surcharge on DUI convictions and administered by counties. Indigent defendants can ask the sentencing court to authorize installation and operating costs from the fund. Ask your attorney to make this request at or after sentencing.
How long will I have the interlock for a second DUI?
Idaho Code requires an IID following the mandatory 1-year suspension for a second offense, but does not state a specific IID term in statute. The commonly cited figure of 2 years is unverified from official sources. Confirm the exact term that applies to your specific case with your attorney or ITD.
Sources: Idaho Transportation Department — Driver Records; I.C. §18-8004; §18-8005; §18-8008; §18-8010; §49-1220. Last verified August 2026.
Advertising disclosure: We may be compensated when you contact a provider through our numbers or links. This doesn’t affect our rankings or information. Content is informational only — not legal advice. Verify requirements with your attorney or ITD.